Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

Directorate of Estates and Facilities

Directors Office

The Directorate of Estates and Facilities is headed by the Director, Diana Hampson. Diana is responsible for the strategic leadership and direction of the Directorate, including the operational management of all Estates and Facilities services.

Diana Hampson, Director of Estates and Facilities

Diana is a chartered surveyor and has been Director of Estates and Facilities at The University of Manchester since 1997.

During this time Diana has steered the Directorate through the merger with UMIST in 2004 and has successfully delivered the most ambitious capital build programme in the history of UK Higher Education, creating new high quality facilities worth £650 million. The estate for which Diana is responsible comprises over 900,000sq metres of academic, administrative, commercial and residential accommodation on 711 acres of land, mainly in the City of Manchester but also some locations further afield.

Diana is now leading the £1 billion Estates Masterplan which was approved by the Board of Governors in October 2012, seeing the creation of a world-class campus for our staff and students.

Kenny Nolan, Deputy Director of Estates and Facilities

Kenny joined the University in 1991 and stared work as a Building Supervisor on the east side of the Campus. Since that time he has held posts in Residences, where he managed the 2002 Commonwealth Village, advised the Faculty of Humanities interim Leadership Team in 2004 and has since been Head of Faculty of Estates for Humanities, Assistant Director/Head of Frontline Services and Deputy Director of Estates and Facilities since June 2012.

Steve Jordan, Assistant Director of Estates and Facilities/Head of Capital Projects

Steve joined the University in June 2012 from Drivers Jonas Deloitte where he was Director, leading the Education and Health Sector Team, to take up his current post. Steve leads the Universitys Capital Projects Team and the Environmental Sustainability Team.